top of page

History of Little Athletics


Little Athletics began in Geelong in 1964, and has since spread throughout Australia (some 88,000 athletes from 500 centres). Kew Centre was formed in 1967 and celebrated its 40th year in 2007 with our life members.  In 1967 Kew comprised 3 clubs.  There were 25 boys registered and 17 girls.    At the end of the 2017/18 season there were 350 athletes registered at the one Kew Centre.


Little Athletics in Victoria is administered by Little Athletics Victoria (LAVic) which is affiliated with Australian Little Athletics (ALA). Currently there are over 100 centres and more than 20,000 little athletes in Victoria. A Board of Management consisting of six elected Directors administers LAVic. There are various Advisory Committees and Standing Committees, which work with, and advise the Board. The Association holds its annual conference each year in August.


The LAVic office employs a small administrative staff under the direction of the Chief Executive Officer. Coaching Manuals and several items of equipment and clothing are available through the office. The office is at Unit 2, 95 Salmon Street (Cnr Rocklea Drive) Port Melbourne. (Melway ref: 42 H12). Postal address is Locked Bag 1011, Port Melbourne Vic 3207. Telephone (03) 9676 3600, Facsimile (03) 9676 3601. Website:


Victoria is divided into 8 LAVic regions, 4 metropolitan and 4 country, and each region may be further divided into several divisions. Kew is in the Eastern Metropolitan Region. Each Region is responsible for conducting qualifying heats in State Championship events for Little Athletes in its area.


The Eastern Metropolitan Region (EMR) consists of 13 centres: Box Hill, Camberwell/Malvern, Collingwood, Croydon, Doncaster, Lilydale, Ringwood Cockatoo, Knox, Nunawading, Sherbrooke, Waverley and Kew.


bottom of page